Consultation launched on recommendations to create a town council for Barrow

A consultation on the creation of a town council for Barrow is set to enter its second phase.

Parish and town councils make up the first tier of local government and some parts of Barrow borough already have parish councils and a town council in place.

However, a large area of Barrow currently remains unparished.

Residents were invited to take part in a public consultation – as part of a process called a Community Governance Review – earlier this year with the majority of the replies found to be in favour of the creation of a town council.

Now, a second consultation will take place between Monday, July 25 and Friday, August 26 – with people able to comment on the recommendations made as part of the review.

Letters will be sent to householders within the area in question this week.

Councillor Derek Brook, Barrow Borough Council’s lead member for community, said: “The review is taking place because Cumbria is undergoing Local Government Reorganisation, which means that a new unitary council will be created from April next year to replace Barrow Borough Council, South Lakeland District Council and Eden District Council.

“Barrow is the only area that doesn’t already have a town or parish council.

“A set of recommendations have now been made following the public consultation this spring which people can comment on if they wish.”

The recommendations are:

  • That the new parish be named Barrow.

  • That the new parish of Barrow should have a parish council and be called Barrow Town Council (though the name and style of the new council is a matter for the new parish council to decide).

  • That the year of election will be 2023 and then every 4 years after.

  • That the new parish of Barrow would be made up of the eleven existing Barrow Borough Council wards covering the unparished area of the borough: Walney North, Walney South, Barrow Island, Hindpool, Central, Ormsgill, Parkside, Risedale, Hawcoat, Newbarns and Roosecote.

  • That the electoral arrangements that should apply for the new Parish of Barrow will be:

  1. That the parish is divided into wards;

  2. That these wards would be: Walney North, Walney South, Barrow Island, Hindpool, Central, Ormsgill, Parkside, Risedale, Hawcoat, Newbarns and Roosecote

  3. That the number of parish councillors elected for each ward would be: Walney North 2; Walney South 2; Barrow Island 1; Hindpool 2; Central 2; Ormsgill 2; Parkside 2;  Risedale  2;  Hawcoat 2;  Newbarns  2; Roosecote  2.

To comment on the recommendations as part of the second stage consultation, people can email their views to or write to: Community Governance Review, Barrow Borough Council, Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow in Furness, Cumbria, LA14 2LD

Responses will be considered by Barrow Borough Council’s Community Governance Review Working Group and reported to a special meeting of the authority in September.

If the final recommendations are approved, they will be sent to the Shadow Westmorland and Furness Council – the new unitary council for the area – for approval.

Subject to this approval, a Re-organisation Order would be made to enable a town council for the unparished area of Barrow to come into existence on April 1, 2023.

Cllr Brook added: “Town and parish councils can consider a whole range of topics and issues and give communities a local voice. In our case, it would be a voice that is just for Barrow.

“The results of the first phase of the review show the majority of people want a town council for Barrow.

“Now we are asking people to comment on the recommendations before they are sent to the borough council for approval later this year.”

Leave a comment

Next and Previous CandoFM News

Now playing: The Aerobees with Friend